Last Friday, I went to Islamic Book Fair (IBF) 2015 in Gelora Bung Karno, Jakarta, with some colleagues. This is the first time I visited IBF, and I didn’t have any expectation. People say IBF is one of the biggest book fairs in Indonesia, and is always crowded every year. But this year, it doesn’t seem like it has too many visitors (perhaps during weekend the visitors will multiplied).

As stated previously, I didn’t have any expectation, and I didn’t plan on buying any book. But–oh boy–I was so wrong!

It was nearly lunchtime, Miss. E and I were looking for a food stall. As we were heading to the second floor, a small stand standing innocently in the middle of the stairs. The word “imported books” and “sale” caught our eyes immediately. It’s a stand of By Books & Friends. We approached it and saw a lot of children books. Oh! Did I mention that I love children books? Especially ones that have beautiful or adorable illustrations? I. Freaked. Out.

Instantly, we’re busy sorting through the books. I had difficult time selecting which books were going to go home with me, and I lamented the fact that I didn’t have more money. In the end, I picked four books. Without further ado, here they are…

IBF 2015 book haul

 

The Wind in the Willows

By Kenneth Grahame Smith, Adapted by Michael Bishop, Illustrated by Rene Cloke

This is a famous classics, and I have been curious about it for quite a long time. Even though this one is the adaptation, I don’t mind. Next time I’ll look for the original version.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar

By Eric Carle

A recommended children book. I’ve also been curious about this one, though the illustration is not that appealing to me. As the title suggests, this book tells about the journey of a caterpillar to become a butterfly. It eats a lot of food for one whole week, and several pages have holes in them, as if the caterpillar chews its way through the pages. The drawing of the food is okay, but the drawing of the butterfly makes me kinda disappointed… I think it should be more beautiful.

VHC 1

VHC 2

VHC 3

your tummy will hurt if you eat too much ^_^

 

VHC 4

That’s not My Kitten…

Since I have a son, I’m always eager to buy him books, even though he still can’t sit quietly when I read him the books. So when I saw this book, with textures in each page, I was so excited. Actually there were also That’s not My Monkey…, That’s not My Lion…, and That’s not My Penguin… Of course I wanted to take them all, but my wallet told me to only pick one T__T I picked kitten because it’s the only animal (out of the four) that my son has encountered, and I’m also a big fan of kittens. Tehehe~

TNMK 1

TNMK 2

TNMK 3

A Book of Sleep

By Il Sung Na

The beautiful illustrations really captivated me. I fell in love at the first sight. Hopefully when I read this book, my son will fall asleep instantly… hihihi… Slim chance :p

ABOS 1

ABOS 2

 

Apart from the four books I bought, there was one book that was really interesting. It’s a pop-up book of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. I managed to snap some pictures. Too bad the book was a bit in a bad shape, and it’s not worth the price.

PUB Alice 1

PUB Alice 2

PUB Alice 3

PUB Alice 4

 

If I have the chance to visit IBF next year, I hope I’ll come across this stand again. I’ll also look out for By Books & Friends in other book fairs, like Jakarta Book Fair (JBF) and International Indonesia Book Fair (IIBF). I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of seeing children books. I love them 🙂

