Today I went to two bookstores, Togamas and Rumah Buku looking for a book my friend recommended to me. However, I turned out buying 4 books–ermm, novels–instead of just one. There are so many books in the stores nowadays, how to choose which one to buy?

Here’s how I choose today’s books:

HOUSE (by Frank Peretti & Ted Dekker)

My review on this book

(not recommended)

Perhaps there is a bit too much texts on the front cover, but the dominant black adorned with green successfully caught my attention. With the appearance of a creepy house, I knew instantly that this novel’s genre is horror/thriller. My fave ^^ <3. Seeing the synopsis on the back cover convinced me to buy it; it’s about a deadly game in a house–kinda like the movie SAW maybe? The general idea is not unusual, but let me say more about it after I finish reading it.

The Windflower (by Sharon & Tom Curtis)

My review on this book

(not recommended)

With this novel, I definitely fell in love with the cover. The purple flowers, the composition and the font are really sweet and adorable. The cream background somehow reminds me of blueberry cheesecake. The unique paper texture (I dont know what kind of paper it is) further tempted me to buy this romance novel.

I also saw several other romance novels from Gagas Media (the Indonesian publisher) which are as adorable as this one. Despite the fact that romance is not really my genre and that I probably wont fancy the story, I feel like I want to buy them all! …if only I have a lot of money :))

18 Seconds (by George Schuman)

My review on this book

(recommended)

Now this is the novel that my friend recommends. Even though I dont like the cover (seriously!), I bought it anyway.The genre is thriller and the idea of the story is intriguing (about a blind woman who, when touching a dead body, can see 18 seconds before a his/her death). I hope this novel is as good as they say it is.

The Gates (by John Connolly)

My review on this book

(recommended)

I dont reallylike the cover; the illustration, the intricate black silhouette is okay, but the red and yellow colors that dominate the space are hideous (I prefer the cover of this version: http://www.goodreads.com/book/photo/10365024-the-gates). I only bought this novel because of one reason: the author! šŸ˜€ Yes, so farMr. Connolly has never failed to impress me with his stories. After reading THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS and EVERY DEAD THING and found myself love them, I cant wait to read another book from John Connolly.

